Strolling through the cemetery

Now that I’ve crossed the Louvre, Eiffel Tower and Notre Dame off my list of things visit in Paris, I’m starting to work my way through the smaller, lesser known tourist attractions. This past Friday I had some time to kill so I figured what a better way to spend a beautiful day than in a cemetery. I know, I know it sounds morbid, but the Père Lachaise Cemetery was so beautiful I almost forgot that I was wondering amongst the deceased.

FullSizeRenderFollow me up the stairs and let’s begin…FullSizeRender

FullSizeRenderThis giant mausoleum is situated smack dab in the middle of the cemetery. I’m not sure who is buried in here buy I’m assuming their last name starts with “T” and they were probably veryyyy important.

FullSizeRenderAlthough this rest spot was full of beautiful flowers and offered an amazing view of Paris, I did find it a little bizarre to find people eating their lunches in the middle of a giant cemetery. Call me crazy, but the thought of chowing down knowing I’m surrounded by corpses is anything but appetizing.

FullSizeRenderFor Americans, this cemetery is the most known for being home to Jim Morrison’s grave. Considering the huge size of this place and the fact that I’ve never listened to a Doors’ song, I decided to forgo searching for it.

FullSizeRenderAs bizarre as it sounds to go visit a cemetery for recreational purposes, I would definitely recommend visiting this one if you have some free time in Paris.


That’s all for now, but I am heading to Florence, Italy for the weekend for an Easter festival called Scoppio del Carro. Make sure to check back soon for my post about my little weekend getaway to the land of pizza, wine and beautiful men.


Leave a comment